Welcome To My Blog

welcome to my blog pic

Hello Everyone,

Thanks for taking the time to read my blog. This first post is just to tell you a little bit about myself and my journey into sewing.

I have never written a blog, this is my first time so apologies in advance for any strange acts :). Ok back to the matter, my name is Chinelo Bally, I am 20 something, I was born in Nigeria but I have lived in the England since I was 8 years old so the two cultural backgrounds have played a major role in shaping my sense of style and who I am today, as my belief in God has also done. I am a Media and Creative Industries graduate from the University of East London, I loved my time there mainly because of the diversity of students and staff background, it really gave the learning experience a richness and I have made friends  from all walks of life. I am the second of four children (one sister;who steals all my clothes-more on her in the future, and two brothers). I got married to the most wonderful man (most of the times) 4.5 years ago, no kiddies yet. He is my biggest fan and my worst critic, forever pushing me to do better, thank you baby xxx. With the great encouragement from him and my fabulous family and friends over the past two years, I have been able to acquire and grow my sewing skills and pursue my dream of being a fashion designer and owning my own clothing brand; the launch of which will be announced on this blog. So here is my little thank you to all the ladies in my life who wore, with pride (I think *covers face*), the garments I made for them in the very beginnings of my sewing journey, even though the fits were hardly spot on, you offered me your different shaped bodies as my mannequins so I could learn how to cut and sew for all body shapes and I am truly grateful.

Right! how I got into sewing. I have always been quite passionate about fashion, I love clothes and I love to look good. before learning how to make my own clothes I always found it very hard to find tops that I loved, you know the kinds that you look at and think WOW! I would try on a top in a shop and think, if only this was like this or if only this bit had that on it it would be perfect so after many years of thinking like that, I would buy two tops, cut them up and take it to the tailor to create what I actually wanted, I’d do sketches of tops and dresses that I wanted, get some fabric and take it to my tailor. Everyone would always ask me where I got my clothes from; this planted the seeds of getting into designing and creating my own clothes. Determined to learn how to sew, I got my first sewing machine from a second hand store in Grays, Essex. This old Singer sat idol in my house for three months after my first attempt at (clueless) freehand cutting of a top failed woefully.  I decided that I wanted to learn to sew, but not the conventional way; no offence to all the people out there who use patterns for their sewing projects, but I really found them quite restrictive, and I wanted everything i made to be totally original to me, plus I knew that my tailor never used pattern and on the odd occasions that I caught her whilst she was cutting, I found the craft immensely fascinating, on that note I called her up and begged her to teach me and she was happy to let me come and watch her work. The spark was lit and I have fallen in love with dressmaking ever since. I have made my entire wardrobe (bar jeans, vest tops and jumpers) for the past two years, I have turned my passion into a business, making bespoke clothes for several customers who love my style.

This blog aims to teach you guys who share my passion of sewing, a completely unique way of dressmaking; freehand cutting. hopefully you will learn how to cut without using a pattern and make clothes for yourself that hardly ever need an extensive fitting out process, because it should just fit once it is made.

I’m sure that if you are reading this blog,  you must have an interest in sewing and making clothes for yourself and maybe even others, so in that sense we are like minded. I really want you guys to get involved, I would really appreciate all your comments and suggestions as I upload step-by-step projects. I would love to know what you will like to see me make, your suggestions on making the blog better and more beneficial to you and I will also appreciate your criticism (be kind 🙂 pls).

I hope you enjoy my blog and become a faithful viewer

Have a blessed day

39 comments

  1. Chinelo I really love the top you’re rocking in this picture. Can you show us how to make this step by step. I’m new to sewing.
    Thanks
    X

    1. Hi Toro
      Thanks for the compliment, I sure will, as you are the first to suggest something I will try my very best to do it really soon, however I will be doing a tutorial for freehand cutting and sewing a basic top tomorrow. Stay tuned!!

      xoxo
      Chinelo

  2. Hi Chinello, I’ve been watching GBSB and find your method of tailoring amazing! Thank you for your generosity in sharing on this blog. I love how nice y’all are to each other on the show. (I’m in the US, where reality TV contestants are encouraged to be unkind, I think). Anyway, best of luck on the Bee. I hope you win, not only because of your obvious talent and skills, but also because you are in the best position to leverage a win into something fabulous, like a Craftsy.com class or a book series.

  3. And to think I’ve only just sold my sewing machine. Reading this has reminded me why I fell in live with sewing in the first place. I vow to sort out my schedules and start making time to improve my sewing again! Great work Chinelo!

  4. Dear Chinelo,

    It is not often that I leave a comment in a blog but I am going to make an exception here.
    I saw you in GBSB and would like to congratulate you on creating some of the prettiest garments I have seen in a long time. What a great talent you are. I loved the dress with the big bow on the shoulder. It would be just the sort of dress some of my clients would love to wear on stage.

    Wishing you good luck, a creative spirit and many happy customers who will wear your design with pride.

    Best regards,
    Nancy

  5. Your a true inspiration I loved you in the show and think you are amazing at what you do personally I believe you should have won your so creative I will be waiting to hear all about your brand in the future best of luck 😄

  6. Hi Chinelu, I have been watching the sewing programme and I utterly enjoyed your style when creating something. I especially loved when you mixed african prints on western-styled outfits. That is exactly what I am looking for. Are you going to start your brand soon?
    Congratulations, for me you are the winner!

  7. Dear Chinelo

    I’m sorry you did not win the GBSB, but so glad you were competing in it right to the final. You have certainly opened British stitchers’ eyes to the skill and creativity of body measuring, free handling and cutting fabric!

    Your blog is generous with ideas and techniques – I want to try some with my stash. Best wishes with your sewing and stitching ventures – you may be starting a Great British Sewing Revolution in free style.

    Regards

    EmmEff

  8. Chinelo, you are a beautiful, amazing and talented woman! I’ve loved watching your progress on Sewing Bee and always been eager to see what you would come up with next!! You are an inspiration :oD Can’t wait to get reading through your blog and come up with new projects for the stash of fabric I have! It’s wonderful to see someone using the creative gifts that their creator gave them ;o) God Bless!! xxx

  9. After going over a few of the blog articles on your web site,
    I really appreciate your technique of blogging. I saved it to my
    bookmark site list and will be checking back soon.
    Take a look at my web site as well and tell me your opinion.

  10. Oh my goodness! Awesome article dude! Thank you so much, However I am having difficulties with your RSS.
    I don’t understand the reason why I cannot join it.
    Is there anyone else having similar RSS issues?
    Anyone that knows the answer can you kindly respond? Thanx!!

  11. It was hard to find your articles in google search results.
    I found it on 20 position, you should build some
    quality backlinks , it will help you to get more visitors.
    I know how to help you, just search in google –
    k2 seo tricks

  12. I read a lot of interesting articles here. Probably you spend a lot of time writing, i know how to save you a lot of time,
    there is an online tool that creates high quality, SEO friendly posts in minutes, just type in google – laranitas
    free content source

  13. Thanks for the auispicious writeup. It if truth
    be told was a enjoyment account it. Glance complex to far introduced agreeable
    from you! By the way, how can we keep up a correspondence?

  14. Hi there just wanted to give you a quick heads up.
    The text in your article seem to bee runnkng off the screen inn Chrome.
    I’m not sure if this is a format issue or something to
    do with web browser compatibility but I thought I’d post to let you know.
    Thee design look great though! Hope you get the problem fixed soon. Many thanks

  15. My brother recommended I would possibly like this web site.
    He was once entirely right. This put up actually made my
    day. You cann’t believe just how much time I had spent for
    this information! Thanks!

  16. Thanks on your marvelous posting! I quite enjoyed reading it, you’re a great author.

    I will always bookmark your blog and will often come
    back from now on. I want to encourage you to definitely continue your great
    work, have a nice holiday weekend!

  17. After going over a handful of the blog articles on your blog,
    I truly appreciate your technique of blogging. I book-marked it to my bookmark webpage list and will be checking
    back in the near future. Take a look at my website
    too and tell me what you think.

  18. When I initially left a comment I appear to have clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox
    and from now on every time a comment is added I receive 4 emails with
    the exact same comment. There has to be an easy method you are able to
    remove me from that service? Thanks!, funny videos epic fails pranks
    cats compilation 2014 http://goo.gl/d1j75u

  19. Hello there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and found that it is truly informative.
    I’m going to watch out for brussels. I will appreciate
    if you continue this in future. Numerous people will be benefited from
    your writing. Cheers!

  20. All along the worth chain, manufacturers and suppliers are pushing to squeeze extra photo voltaic vitality out of every greenback
    invested in photo voltaic gear. Advancements have included growing cell power effectivity, using thinner wafers,
    and increasing generating power in low-gentle. The photo voltaic trade is faced with an enormous oversupply of
    photo voltaic panels planned for manufacturing in 2008.

  21. Hi folks, just want to warn you – don’t pay $500 for platinum
    roulette system, you can find it for free, just search in google – platinum roulette system – you will find article about this system

  22. Hi webmaster do you need unlimited content for your page ?
    What if you could copy post from other blogs, make it unique and publish on your
    blog – i know the right tool for you, just search in google:
    kisamtai’s article tool

Leave a Reply

