Thank you all xxx!!!

Hi Stitch-hearts (lamest pun ever but I like it)

Its been a while since I posted on my blog but I’m sure everyone can appreciate how hectic it has all been, but I am giving my scouts honours word that I will be posting a new tutorial more regularly.

Firstly, and most importantly, I will like to say a huge thank you to all of you who have supported my sewing bee journey, I am so grateful for all the kind messages that have kept me very busy responding. to all the new followers, welcome to my blog and I hope it will be a useful resource for you.

I really felt the support of the British public and  am so pleased with how my approach to sewing has been received. Doing sewing bee is an experience I will never forget and I am so thankful to have been short-listed for the programme. I know the application for next years series has closed but I will strongly recommend anyone considering taking part in the one after to go for it.

Being in a room full of people who shared my passion for sewing was amazing and something I had never experienced before. All the contestants were fantastic; a really good bunch and I loved every minute of it.

When it came down to the final and it was just Heather, Tamara and myself, I must admit that it induced some bitter-sweet feelings; I was proud to be competing with such experienced sewists in the finals but was also afraid of that same fact. I have to say that losing the crown to Heather, was not a loss at all, technically, Heather is a fantastic sewist and she is highly skilled, she deserved her win!

?????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

I’m sure everyone remembers my tie melt down. Gosh that was a very wordy pattern and not being a pattern girl it completely threw me. Prior to the sewing bee I had never used a pattern, but when I was confronted with my first pattern for the show, I relied heavily on the pictures for direction. So sorry to all those who were disappointed with the melt down, but hey, I never have to make a tie EVER again (I say that now but something inside me tells me I will soon post up a tutorial on making a tie freehand).

I love making glamorous gowns so designing my finale dress was O so joyous to say the least. I have to say a massive thank you to my bestie Rose for being my model, I still cant believe it, she doesn’t even do phone cameras so imagine my utter shock when she walked in to a room full of broadcasting cameras for a BBC programme, talk about conquering your fears!! Extreme! The dress looked amazing on Rose and I was very happy with it.

image (4) image (5)

Wish I had some more time to press out all those creases though.

After the show aired on Tuesday I have had hundreds of emails about workshops so I have added a couple more dates for London!!! the link for these is below but they are filling up fast so if you are interested get in there as soon as possible

https://www.kazoova.com/activity/407/

I have also had loads of interest from readers and viewers outside the UK and I am working on ways to get you free-handing so once things have been confirmed I will  put up a post to update everyone, but there are loads of exciting things happening so expect some good stuff  😉

Have a wonderful day

With Love

Chinelo

xxx

17 comments

  1. Chinelo, I was so disappointed that you didn’t win the sewing bee. Heather was good and pulled out a fantastic final garment, but she played it safe all the way through. Overall I thought you deserved it because of your natural flair.
    I would love to attend one of your workshops, but would find it difficult to get to London. However, I wish you well and I’m sure they will be very successful.
    I look forward to receiving any tips etc., by email.
    Good luck and well done on your success in the show. You have lots of fans in the north of England.
    Pat houghton

  2. Chinello I was sory you did notwin sadly yoour tie let you down.
    As a christian maybemaking another tie would be a good idea. you could raise money for a charity

  3. Chinelo,
    You were amazing on Sewing Bee and have lots of fans in the US – we loved watching you create garments and looking forward to learning more from you! Thank you!

  4. Chinelo!

    You were so fantastic on the Sewing Bee. Your styles and techniques were fabulous and aspirational. I was rooting for you the whole time and was gutted when you didn’t win. Nevertheless, youwere awesome and even with the tie melt down you did great! To me it showed how much it mattered to you to do well and you still pulled through. Well done!

    I would love to come to your workshops, but unfortunately Am unable to. Would love to know of any futur upcoming workshops or any other events in the future. Do you do custom-made work? I would love to have the opportunity to speak to you about that if possible.

    Happy sewing!

  5. I really felt for you with the Tie ! Yikes I too would have been the same , worst thing to make ever ! Wish I had the nerve to apply for the show but I don’t deem myself good enough, I shall keep practising though. I really enjoyed watching you on the show and so sorry you didn’t win, your dresses were amazing, I salute you, keep up the good work 😊

  6. I think you have a real talent for creating beautiful garments, your natural flair is brilliant and I would have liked you t.o win the sewing bee, but you did extremely well. you will go far.

  7. Chinelo, I loved watching the way you work when freehanding clothes. Your evening dress was an absolute stunner! I would have liked to see both you and Heather win – it was neck and neck. I know you will go on to greater things. Hmm, wonder if they’ll do the Great Australian Sewing Bee?

  8. Yay Team Chinelo!! I was routing for you for the whole series – your posh gowns are amazing, and all freehand – your skills astonished me every week. I wish you’d won but I understood why the judges picked Heather – she definitely has the technical skills. Can’t wait to see more of your freehand tutorials!

  9. Me and my sister watched it together and wanted you to win. It was sad when you didn’t win but heathers dress was amazing I can’t disagree with that. My favourite one was the dress you made in episode 7 (the re-make dress.) I loved it I would wear it my self and will be checking your page again soon

  10. You have every reason in the world to be proud of what you’ve done — and what an example you’ve set for folks who are afraid to do something. You did incredible work and have a lot of creating yet to come! I really enjoyed watching you work. Best Wishes!

  11. Brilliant work on the sewing bee. Prompted me to get sewing again. I sincerely wish you all the best for the future. Looking forward to your overseas project.

  12. Hi Chinelo,

    Congratulations on your accomplishments on the Sewing Bee. You were great all thru the competition. It’s amazing how beautiful your work is. I watched on You tube since I’m from Puerto Rico (US territory). I’m so glad someone put it there so the whole world of sewing fans could watch. I will be checking your blog to learn more about you and your work.

    Norma

  13. Im absolutely gutted you didn’t win GBSB! You we’re by far my favourite even from the first episode. You have such a flare for design and I am utterly envious of your skills. I look forward to seeing further tips and tutorials xxx

  14. Hi Chinelo, I love love watching sawing bee I have watched it like 20 times now on iPlayer. I feel so proud to be a Nigerian and you’ve reignited my love for sawing. So disappointed that you didn’t win but hey you’re a winner to me always, thanks for the measurement video on YouTube looking forward to more of your tutorials.

  15. Thank you all so much for such kind messages, I am so touched by them all and extremely grateful for the support during and beyond the sewing bee. I’m really excited that so many people have been inspired to get sewing again and that people want to give the freehand method a go. I always look forward to pictures of people’s projects, please keep them coming! Have a beautiful week everyone. loads of love. Chinelo xxx

Leave a Reply

